Employees of the Year 2017-18

Submitted on Fri, 04/26/2019 - 4:21pm

Adams 12 Five Star Schools, in partnership with the District Twelve Educators Association (DTEA) and the Classified School Employees' Association (CSEA), announce the employees of the year for the Five Star District.

All district employees were invited to nominate colleagues at will. No nominations were directed from district leadership and parents and community member nominations were not accepted. Any employee nominated by a colleague will be listed below by category. Each employee group had a separate committee made up of various roles to decide on the finalists and winners. 

For 2017-18 we are celebrating three employee groups:

  • Certified: Staff who are licensed in their field such as teachers and counselors, etc. 
  • Classified: Operational staff such as office staff, custodians, nutritional services, etc.
  • Administration: School and district leadership such as principals and district staff, etc. 

From teachers to custodians, principals to counselors, the many different roles and responsibilities of Five Star employees pave the road for student success in every classroom, every day.

Classified Employees
Week of April 30 - May 4
Employee of the Year:
Cathy Goodell - Campus Security Officer at Legacy High School. Read about why Cathy won the award!
Pam Annis - Registration Specialist at Bollman Tech
Brian Hart - BASE Director at Coyote Ridge
Michelle Jaramillo - Office Clerk at Westlake
Bill Ryszkowski, Scott Dickerson & Chris Hays - Stellar Elementary Custodial Staff
All Nominees: 
Pam Annis - Bollman Tech
Nate Beumer – Transportation
Sharon Brunner - Arapahoe Ridge
Gary Bump – Transportation
Nancy Bunjes - SEI-Medicaid
Laura Buster – Hillcrest
Melissa DeRenzo – Westview
Cathy Goodell – Legacy
Jennifer Grandshaw - Arapahoe Ridge
Kellie Harris – Horizon
Brian Hart - Coyote Ridge
Brandy Harvey - Vantage Point
Lisa Hassel - Prairie Hills
Barb Hatfield – ESC
Velma Henderson – Transportation
Helle Hill – ESC
Michelle Jaramillo - Westlake
Suk Johnson – Century
Terri Johnson - Legacy 
Justin King – Stukey
Jamie Mitchell LaMaster – Early Childhood
Patty Long - Shadow Ridge
Lance Malleck - Malley Drive
Anai Martinez - Human Resources
Patti Mickelson - Northglenn HS
Greg Mirelez - Vantage Point
Keegan Payne - Legacy High School
Jennifer Rahn – Leroy
Nicole Ramirez – Horizon
Jean Richardson – Century
Jeri Saal – Westview
Cindy Snyder - Arapahoe Ridge
Kim Sponsel – Transportation
Mariano Vazquez Hernandez - Coronado Hills
Waldemar Kowlczyk – Westview
Custodial Staff Nomination: Bill Ryszkowski, Scott Dickerson, Chris Hays – Stellar
Certified Employees
Week of May 7-11
Employee of the Year:
Carolina "Lina" Moreyra - Instructional Coach at Westview Elementary. Read about why Lina won the award!
Heather Espinosa: 1st grade teacher at Woodglen
Olivia Hyten: Counselor at Silver Hills
Steve Lash: English teacher at Horizon
Natalie Rivas: 8th grade English teacher at Rocky Top
All Nominees:
Sean Blythe: STEM Launch
Jon Brunecz: Rocky Top
Addie Chavez: Coronado Hills 
Nikole Cox: Century
Gerardo De Los Santos: Federal Heights
Ashley Durrum: Northglenn HS
Heather Espinosa: Woodglen
Cindy Ferrari: North Mor
Loren Glen: Malley Drive
Ryan Haldeman: Thornton ES
Robby Herd: Hulstrom K-8
Merae Hoffman: Bollman Tech
Sierra Hoover: Legacy
Mary Hyde: Hillcrest
Olivia Hyten: Silver Hills
Kate Klaver: STEM Launch
Steve Lash: Horizon
April Leitshuh: Northglenn HS
Stephanie Lumley: North Mor
Julie Moore: Skyview
Carolina Moreya: Westview
Angela Newberry: Hulstrom K-8
Keri Odekirk: Eagleview
Deena Pries: Coyote Ridge
Karen Reeder: Hillcrest 
Ellen Reffel-Lillo: Silver Hills
Stellar Elementary: Response-to-Intervention (RTI) team
Jon Rethinger: Vantage Point
Natalie Rivas: Rocky Top
Keri Roberts: Cotton Creek
Nicholas Schuster: Rocky Top
April Smith: Bollman Tech
Kathy Smith: Westview
Derek Smith: Coronado Hills
Jason Soukup: Rocky Mountain
Nick Spanel: Cherry Drive
Cheryl Stanley: Tarver
Stacy Stansbury: Mountain Range
Valarie Stepaniak: Malley Drive
Linda Symank: Thornton HS
Melissa Taigen: Stukey
Jeanine Tennant: STEM Lab
Greg Waller: Westlake
Administrative Employees
Week of May 14-18
Employee of the Year:
Donald Beuke and Marie McKenzie: Principal and Assistant Principal at Coronado Hills. Read about why Donald and Marie won the award!

Sharee Blunt: Principal at Northglenn HS
Tiffany Hansen: Assistant Principal at Mountain Range
Matt Schmidt: Principal at Pathways
Joe Stephen: Facilities Manager-Custodial Operations
All Nominees:
Donald Beuke: Coronado Hills
Sharee Blunt: Northglenn HS
Kevin Delohery: Facility Maintenance
Tiffany Hansen: Mountain Range
Amy Herrman: North Mor
Bill Kempsell: Cotton Creek
Kyle Jimenez: Purchasing
Mimi Livermore: Finance
Marie McKenzie: Coronado Hills
Christine Parkes: Centennial 
Anabel Rafoul: Federal Heights
Lisle Reed: Whole Child Initiatives
Connie Salas: Case Worker
Brandon Salling: Mountain Range
Matt Schmidt: Pathways
Joe Stephen: Facilities Manager-Custodial Operations
Johnny Terrell: Student Engagement Initiatives 
Chris Trujillo: Tarver