District celebrates graduating scholarship recipients

Tuesday, April 17, 2018 - 9:30am
Five Star Proud header

Graduates from each comprehensive high school earn scholarship honors

As we near the end of another school year, we are reminded that getting to graduation is a true testament of not only the student’s hard work, but that of the families, teachers and community members who helped them gain the knowledge and skills necessary to pursue a future of their choosing.

This educational teamwork, yet again, proved a success with select graduates from each of the district’s high schools earning scholarships. Below represents only a few of the honors from the Class of 2018 – congratulations to each and every graduate for their accomplishments during their time at Five Star Schools.

Three Five Star students named 2018 Daniels Scholars

The Daniels Scholarship Program offers resources, encouragement and inspiration far beyond the financial assistance needed to earn a college degree. The goal is not only to help Daniels Scholars succeed in college, but to ensure that they thrive beyond their years in college. Daniels Scholars are selected from the four-state region of Colorado, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming for demonstrating exceptional character, leadership and a commitment to serving their community. For more ​​information on the Daniels Scholarship, visit DanielsFund.org.

Congratulations to the 2018 Daniels Scholars:

  • Tiffany Ann Marie Deeds, Northglenn High School
  • Racheal Michelle Lampo, Pathways Future Center
  • Camron Bailey Cardis, Thornton High School

Two students selected as 2018 Boettcher Scholarship recipients

The Boettcher Foundation recognizes Colorado's top students by providing them with the funds to attain an excellent in-state education and access to additional opportunities to enrich their time in college and beyond. The selection process is competitive and rigorous. Ms. Hiatt and Ms. Winker were two of 42 named recipients out of nearly 1,500 applications. For more information on the Boettcher Scholarship, visit BoettcherFoundation.org.

Congratulations to the 2018 Boettcher Scholarship recipients:

  • Sophia Rae Winker, Legacy High School (Junior graduating in three years)
  • Jessica Hiatt, Mountain Range High School

​*In addition to the two recipients, the Five Star District is also home to two alternates — one from Thornton High School and one from Legacy High School.

The Power of One Charity awarded scholarships to 10 Five Star students

This year, the Power of One Charity awarded $20,000 to students. Each student will receive $1,000 for their first year of college and an additional $1,000 for their second year of college. The Power of One Charity was created in memory of Andrew James Dollaghan, son of Judi Madsen and Brian Stanley, to provide college scholarships to high school seniors who have lost a parent or sibling, or have substantial financial need. For more information, visit thepowerofonecharity.org.

Congratulations to the 2018 recipients:

Horizon High School Northglenn High School Mountain Range High School Thornton High School
Dominique Farrand
Victoria Quintana
Lacy DiTirro-Feiten
Anna Misko
Evan Underwood
Alan Knutson
Steele Brizzolara-Dove
John Venegas
Allison Maisells

Andrew Higgins