Skip To Main Content

Icon Navigation

Main Navigation Mobile

Header Links Mobile

Schools Trigger

Desktop Schools Menu


Header Links

Mobile Menu Button

Logo Image

Logo Title


Students and staff win computing awards

  • Engage
  • Student Achievement
Students and staff win computing awards

Adams 12 Students and staff win awards at the Colorado Affiliate Award Celebration for the Aspirations in Computing National Center for Women Information Technology Program. The awards celebration was held on Saturday, April 22, 2023 at Colorado School of Mines.

About the Aspiration in Computing Student Award: NCWIT proudly announces the 2023 NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing (AiC) . Each year, U.S. high school students in grades 9 through 12 who are women, genderqueer, or non-binary are eligible to receive recognition for their aptitude and aspirations in technology and computing, as demonstrated by their computing experience, computing-related activities, leadership experience, tenacity in the face of barriers to access, and plans for post-secondary education.

2023 Colorado Affiliate Award Winner: Kelly O'Dell at Legacy High School

2023 Colorado Affiliate Award Honorable Mention: Aryanna Newsome at Legacy High School & FutureForward at Bollman

About the Aspiration in Computing Educator Award: The NCWIT Aspirations in Computing (AiC) Educator Award identifies exemplary formal and informal educators who play a pivotal role in encouraging 9th-12th grade women, genderqueer, or non-binary students to explore their interest in computing and technology. Rather than being a teaching award, this award honors those who work inside and/or outside of classroom spaces to advocate for gender equity in computing by providing educational opportunities that are inclusive to--and supportive of-- women, genderqueer, and non-binary students. The award recognizes these educators for their efforts to promote gender equity in computing. Since 2011, more than 1,000 educators have been recognized and have received more than $225,000 in professional development funding to improve their computing education skills.

2023 Colorado Educator Award Recipient: Bobbie Bastian at FutureForward at Bollman

For All Award Winners:

This story exemplifies our ELEVATE Focus Area: Diverse Learning. Sharing stories of how students receive engaging learning experiences and the focused-attention they need through appropriate student-to-staff ratios and varied programming.